State Borders of Arizona/Nevada

What a weekend! Hoover Dam, Las Vegas, and Valley of Fire all in 3 days (more pictures to come from this whirlwind trip…stay tuned)! I thought I’d start my series of photographs from this trip with Hoover Dam and the new bypass bridge. I can’t believe how much time this new bridge shaves off when heading to Vegas from Phoenix!

hoover dam

 hoover dam 2

Below: Black Canyon and the Colorado River

Hoover Dam lake

Colorado River Black Canyon

hoover dam bypass bridge

Hoover Dam Bypass Bridge 2Below: They built the bypass bridge by building on both sides and meeting in the middle. I found the following photo to give perspective on how amazing this bridge is!

*This photo courtesy of doobybrain.com

k.h. 2012

4 Responses to “Arizona/Nevada: Hoover Dam and the Bypass Bridge”

  1. brucethomasw

    My wife and I ended up by chance @ Hoover, heading from Death Valley to Oldman 9the donkey town) on Route 66 … The damn and the new bridge are both amzing t is quite feats of engineering! I’m looking forward to looking through your photo journals from the 7 continents. Wall of China photo is stunning.

    Reply
    • Kimbernator

      Thank you! Yeah the new bridge cuts off about an hour of driving from Phoenix to Vegas, but I still prefer the dam for some reason. Call me sentimental. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

