Tucson, Arizona

I’ll admit it. I was lost.

But sometimes you stumble upon really cool things when you’re lost.

I was in Tucson for work and had driven out to Saguaro National Park. Getting there was easy. Getting back to my hotel was not.

After 3 hours driving around lost in the desert, I had finally found a freeway. I didn’t know which way to go, so I just picked a direction and kept driving. Eventually I saw a tall building in the distance. It was white, and it was in the middle of nowhere, and I couldn’t help but take the exit and go see what it was.

Proof of the Spanish influence in the American Southwest, this Spanish Mission was founded in 1692 by a Jesuit missionary named Kino. It is also called “The White Dove of the Desert”. After a very long day, I cannot tell you how wonderful it was to quietly explore this place.

Sometimes little adventures find us in the most unexpected places.

A couple of strangers gave me directions back to my hotel, but not before I got to watch the sunset turn the old white building a sweet shade of pink as I sat on my car.

k.h. 2012

4 Responses to “Arizona: San Xavier Mission”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

