Beijing, China

Looking back on photos of this place from 8 years ago, I can

remember the smell, the peaceful spirit, and the uniqueness of this temple. But I

cannot, for the life of me, remember the name of it.

The average person lives over 27,ooo days. And yet for some reason (at least for me), the

days I spend exploring new places stick out in my memory more than any others.

Sometimes I forget small things, like the exact name of a place or what color the carpet was.

But I can still remember the exact moment I stepped off the train in Munich when I was 19 (my first time in

Europe), the colors of that sunset I watched on a beach in Australia with my friends, the smell of

the early morning air while I was waiting for the sun to rise at the Taj Mahal, and even those

15 minutes that my husband and I spent exploring a fishing village market in Hong Kong.

Isn’t the human mind amazing?

*These pictures were scanned from film originals, so the quality is less than ideal.

k.h. 2004

One Response to “China: A Lost Moment”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

