Northern Territory, Australia

Near the town of Alice Springs in central Australia lies Ayers Rock, otherwise known as Uluru. The site is sacred to the Aboriginal people and is regarded as an important religious site.

It is a large sandstone formation that sticks out of the surrounding flat earth like a sore thumb. A very red, unusual, beautiful sore thumb. Having seen the red rocks of Sedona, I was prepared to be unimpressed. We decided to go see what the big deal was, and happened to arrive right before sunset. I watched as the rock actually changed colors before my eyes…from red to purple in a matter of about 10 minutes. I caught myself staring. It was beautiful. And I was impressed.

3 minutes later…

3 more minutes later…

and finally…

And now, the sunset that made it all happen…

*These pictures were scanned from film originals, so the quality is less than ideal.

k.h. 2002

