Tay Ninh, Vietnam

The United States, although full of diversity, is relatively mild when it comes to religion. For this reason, I decided to take the opportunity to travel a short distance from Ho Chi Minh City to see the Cao Dai Temple, home of the relatively modern religion of the same name.

Cao Dai was established in 1926, and is a combination of Taoism, Buddhism, and Confucianism, Christianity, Hinduism and Islam. It’s organizational structure is similar to the Catholic Church. It’s followers dress in white robes and believe that during their forty-minute prayer sessions, God’s presence gazes out at them through the Divine Eye.

Below: The Divine Eye, or Holy See.

Below: One of the four daily prayer sessions taking place.

*These pictures were scanned from film originals, so the quality is less than ideal.

k.h. 2004

5 Responses to “Vietnam: Cao Dai Temple”

  1. Meghan Johnson

    The colors and designs in the temple are stunning! I would want to attend every day. 🙂 I had never heard of this religion before, though it reminds me of Baha’i, based on your description.

    Reply
    • Kimbernator

      I had never heard of it before either. I’m always amazed at how many new things there are to learn in this world, as you of course well know with all of your traveling. Congrats on your upcoming trip by the way!! Where does Baha’i originate? I’ve never heard of it before.

      Reply
      • Meghan Johnson

        I’m not exactly sure where it originated (though I’m sure Wikipedia has the answer), but I did visit the “headquarters” in Haifa, Israel last year. The gardens were gorgeous. I’m pretty sure Rainn Wilson (of The Office) is of the Baha’i faith and wrote a book about it.

      • Kimbernator

        That sounds familiar… I visited a beautiful “temple” built in the shape of a lotus flower in New Delhi, India, and I think it’s the same religion. Cool! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

