Gold King Mine and Ghost Town

Jerome, Arizona

At one point the Gold King Mine produced 3 million pounds of copper per month. As part of the city of Jerome, which is now the largest ghost town in North America, the mine has an astonishing number of artifacts left as reminders of a past so different from our present.

There is something about ghost towns that fascinates me. They seem to be frozen in time, and they allow my imagination to go crazy as I look around and visualize a life lived so long ago but just as real as my own.

Most of the buildings near the Gold King Mine were built quickly and meant to be temporary. But here they stand, over 100 years later. After World War Two, the demand for copper decreased and the Gold King Mine closed down by the late 1950’s. Only about 50 people remained in Jerome at that time, but they worked together to promote the preservation of Jerome and the Gold King Mine as a piece of history.

Jerome edited-10

Jerome edited-4

Jerome edited-8

Jerome edited Jerome edited-2 Jerome edited-3
Jerome edited-5 Jerome edited-6 Jerome edited-7
Jerome edited-9

10 Responses to “Arizona: Gold King Mine and Ghost Town”

  1. Phoport

    Most of the photos would look awesome in black & white. It would suit the era. Other than that great shots.

    Reply
    • Kimbernator

      You’re right! Black and white would have been perfect for most of these! I sometimes shy away from b&w because I love color so much, but I need to incorporate it more for different effects. Thank you for the suggestion!

      Reply
    • Kimbernator

      Thank you! I actually wasn’t going to include that picture because it’s slightly out of focus, but I thought it caught the essence of the place too well to not put it in.

      Reply
  2. C.B. Wentworth

    When I see these ghost towns, I sometimes wonder how we ever got out of the 1800s! (Aren’t you glad we don’t have to teach in that schoolhouse!)

    Reply
    • Kimbernator

      Me too! I love them. They’re so creepy in a cool way. 🙂 And yes, I’m VERY thankful that I don’t have to teach in that school house!

      Reply
  3. Jane Leach

    I love Jerome! I especially enjoyed the schoolhouse picture. My mother went to that school somewhere around 1906. Thanks for sharing the pics. Hope to get back there again some day

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

