East Alligator River

Northern Territory, Australia

I’ll be honest. I’ve done a handful of stupid things in my life. Like trusting a hairdresser enough to take my glasses off during a haircut, and as a result ending up with a mullet. Literally. Or running out of gas. More than once. And then there’s always that tattoo I got when I was 21…

But, by far, the stupidest thing I’ve ever done is to get into a rickety boat and float around on a river that boasts one of the largest concentrated populations of alligators in the world.

This is East Alligator River, and it is located in Kakadu National Park, Australia. Everywhere you look there are alligators swimming, sun bathing, staring right back at you… and to think that I actually swam in this water. (see my post Kakadu National Park)

It’s a good thing my mom doesn’t usually know about my shenanigans until I get home. In fact, when she sees this post, she’s going to completely flip out!

*These pictures were scanned from film originals, so the quality is less than ideal.

k.h. 2002

2 Responses to “Australia: East Alligator River”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

