Do you have animals in your life? If yes, what do they mean to you? If no, why have you opted not to?

I don’t usually blog about my personal life, but today’s Daily Prompt gave me a chance to brag about my adorable boys. πŸ™‚ I am blessed to be owned by two miniature Dachshunds, Lincoln and Teddy (Roosevelt). We adopted Lincoln as a puppy (see my post “Ten Things I Learned From My Puppy“) and quickly realized that he needed a playmate. Like, pronto. Lacking the energy to train another puppy, I found Teddy at a Dachshund rescue through Petfinder.com and it was love at first sight. Teddy was about 5 years old (we think?) when we adopted him, and he has not only been the perfect playmate for Lincoln, but has also been a loving, loyal, wonderful addition to our family. I love both of them equally, but there is something in Teddy’s eyes that tells me that he knows he was rescued and given another chance. I’m sure that if you have a rescued pet, you know what I’m talking about. It absolutely amazes me how love comes full circle when you give it to a dog. They have snuggled with me while I slept, made me laugh with their antics, and licked away my sad tears. They are what love is supposed to look like!

doublebug
Photo taken by the incredibly talented Dina Remi at http://www.dinaremistudios.com

7 Responses to “Daily Prompt: Menagerie”

  1. PigLove

    Mommy has 3 pets – me and the two purr things. We were all adopted here at the Hotel Thompson. And, I am proud to say that I have my very own pet named Bashful. Bashful is my pet rock and I love him! Your barky things look so happy! XOXO – Bacon

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

