Beijing, China

The Great Wall. Every little kid learns about it. Everyone knows about it. Heck, you can even see it from space! And so it was one of those moments when you realize that you’re standing at a place that you’ve read about in history books, that people have fought and died over, and that has been here and will be here long after you.

It took centuries to build, beginning in the 7th century B.C. It was originally built to keep the Mongolians to the north from invading China, but it also served as a transportation system. In some areas it is wide enough to drive a car on the wall! It has now become a national symbol for the tenacity of the Chinese culture and it’s ancient history.

*These pictures were scanned from film originals, so the quality is less than ideal.

k.h. 2004

12 Responses to “China: The Great Wall”

  1. jessicajhill

    The photos are still beautiful, despite the scanner’s faults. I have to wait six whole months before I’ll have time to visit the Great Wall, sadly, but I hope to get some shots like these! I love your blog. Thanks for the add – and I’m so happy to see mine listed on the blogs you follow!

    Reply
    • Kimbernator

      Thank you! Yeah, digital photography was just coming out when I took that trip, and I didn’t trust it. :/ So here I am with thousands of FILM pictures from my trips! Oh well. I’m sure you’ll love the Great Wall!! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com

    Superb post.My next trip hopefully will be China’s great wall.Have a wonderful holidays.jalal

    Reply
  3. nohinngn@me.com

    Well done ! These are great pictures of the Great Wall! Which reminds me… I should go through my India pictures and post some. Having read this I thought it was rather informative. I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this article together. I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

    In return, I also found a great blog of Jinshanling travel tips, I’d love to share it here with you and for future travelers.

    http://www.wildgreatwall.com/how-difficult-is-it-to-do-great-wall-one-day-hike-from-jinshanling-to-simatai-west/

    Reply
    • Kimbernator

      Thank you! And thank you for the link! Great tips. I wish I had been more prepared when I went to the Wall. I wore the wrong shoes, and after hiking up to the top of the section we visited I was sore for an entire week!!!

      Reply
  4. searchingforsubstance

    ooh. what kind of shoes did you wear? what would you recommend? i’m headed there soon and am a bit nervous! was a difficult climb up? which entrance did you go up?

    Reply
    • Kimbernator

      I don’t remember what this particular location was called…I’m sorry! Bummer! But I will tell you that I wore workout clothing and shoes and I’m glad I did. That was a hard core hike, like being on the stair master for 2 hours! I was sore for a week! But not all of the areas are like that. I would be prepared to work out though. How wonderful that you get to go to China soon! πŸ™‚

      Reply
    • Kimbernator

      Oh my goodness thank you! I never thought I’d ever hear that for sure! I hardly even know what I’m doing…. !! πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a comment

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS